Skip to content

Living in Nigeria

February 25, 2010

I knew living here would be tough, but didn’t know it will be this tough. The biggest thing getting to me is the weather, it is really hot here. It also doesn’t cool down here in the evenings. In the evenings at 21:00 it is still 30 degrees outside.
Things that is getting to me is the fact that you cant even spent some time outside and let the kids play outside, it is just to hot to do that.
The electricity is also a issue here, it is more off than on, luckily we have generators on the farm. The electricity also have spikes and then the electronic equipment doesn’t last, we lost the tv in the first week of living here. It is rather difficult to keep the children busy without tv, without toys and the fact that they cant play outside isn’t helping. I do take them for a walk after 16:00 in the afternoons, thats the only time they get out.
Shopping is also something different here. We get most of the daily stuff we need here in Keffi, the small town that is close to us. I will take pictures of the town and post it sometime. For big shopping we go to Abuja, but still we cant get everything we want and the stuff that we know, like branded stuff is very expensive, for example, Kellogs Corn Flakes 750g is about R70 here. It is kinda shocking.
I am really struggling to adjust here, some days are worst than others. I also don’t have anything to do here. I have a “servant” (yes, that is what they call domestic workers here) 6 days a week. The farm is paying for him. J and I actually want to give him more than he gets now. He gets 8000 Naira, that is about R400. That is really nothing, he is also a family man, have a boy of 6 years old. So, Joseph is doing all the house work and when I do some stuff myself, he cant believe that I am doing it and he thanks me for doing it.
I have to get something to keep me busy here. I also have to start homeschooling Madelaine, it is just a problem to get the stuff printed, we will go and buy a printer when J gets his pay.
I really miss SA and the convenience of everything we had there and we took it for granted there.
We have a really nice house here, I am just starting to make it more homey for us. Going to get new curtains and bedding. Otherwise everything is rather nice, will take photos and come and show it.

Greetings from a very hot Nigeria to all my friends and everyone else reading my blog, who is not friends yet.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 26, 2010 8:52 am

    It is going to be a big adjustment for you and the girls. Remember that they take their lead from you. So if you have a positive attitude then they will adjust well. It is stressful, but try and see the good in everything. It will be so much easier for you if you just “decide” that you are going to make it work. Giving up isn’t always the best or easiest decision. It won’t be a walk in the park, but believe in yourself and your marriage and you will cope. Onthou net, daai ou gesegde “Wat nie dood maak nie maak sterk” is waar. You can do it!! 😛

  2. April 14, 2010 4:02 pm

    wow sounds hectic, i am sure as you settle in more you will adapt and find things to do and ways to cope. ((hugs)) hang in there

  3. Wenchy permalink
    May 8, 2010 8:11 pm

    Sjoe. I wouldn’t do well in that heat.

    How you doing now?

Leave a Reply

