Skip to content

Finding my happy place

November 23, 2009

It’s a pity happiness doesn’t come in a bottle. It would make things very easier. I am not in a very happy place in my life right now. With J being gone it is difficult to just be happy. I’ll rather stay in bed and forget about the world and everything else. But I have kids that needs me and this wont last forever. Hopefully just for another month.

My problem now is to find something that keeps me busy and that I enjoy doing. I have lots that MUST be done, like packing and sorting through stuff, but I need something that I WANT to do. I never thought finding something will be so difficult. At this moment the Internet is seriously taking up too much of my time and to make it worse is that I can’t actually say that I am doing something productive. I am just browsing, mainly on Facebook and twitter. If I only do that in the evenings, it will be fine, but I am doing it constantly during the day too.

Now the search is on to find my happy place. This just got me thinking about a story I once read for the children. “Broer Haas se slimstreke” It is about a rabbit that started laughing when a bear caught him. The bear couldn’t understand why the rabbit is laughing, Rabbit told Bear that he cant help but laugh because of his laughing place. Bear was confused because he didn’t have a laughing place, Rabbit told Bear that he would show him his laughing place. They went to a tunnel through the bushes. Bear then said but he doesn’t feel like laughing. Rabbit told Bear that he just has to run through the tunnel and that is when the laughing will start. Bear started running as fast as he could, he then ran into a beehive, the bees started attacking Bear, he ran out of the bushes and Rabbit was laughing so hard he couldn’t stop. When Bear finally stopped running, he told Rabbit that he actually didn’t find anything funny inside. Rabbit started laughing again and told bear that he didn’t say it is Bear’s laughing place, but it is his, Rabbit’s laughing place and that he haven’t stopped laughing since they got there.

That tells me that I have to find my own “laughing” place. I can’t borrow someone else’s happy place, I need my own thing that makes me happy.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 24, 2009 5:02 am

    You’re right. You need to find something to occupy you and something that makes you happy. Twitter and Facebook might not be a complete waste of time though. I found that the interaction and support I received online through one of the worst times in my life pulled me through. All the best.

  2. November 24, 2009 5:18 am

    I think you are on to something here 🙂 This is good news, I’m really truly happy for you. Seeing how sad you’ve been is not nice. I hope you find your happy place really soon and that you laugh and laugh until your sides hurt and your cheeks ache. Big hugs xxx

  3. November 24, 2009 8:05 pm

    (((HUGS))) hope you find the happy place soon

Leave a Reply

